Wednesday, August 17, 2011

IT'S A GIRL!!!!!

Yay!!! We are so excited, apparently so excited I waited 3 weeks to share it on the blog, even though everyone already knows....so sorry blog, you are the last to know. Danny has been doing a great job getting the house ready for the baby. The nursery is painted, but doesn't have any furniture yet....here are some not great pictures...sorry...


There is definitely some more work to be done...but it looks good!  While Danny was painting I tried to be productive, so I put the stroller together.  So far so good!  It hasn't been kid tested yet, but I think it will hold up!  We also have the carseat, and I read up on how to use that.  Geeze, I am uncertain as to how some people have kids and keep them alive and safe...some of this stuff seems awfully complicated to me, and registering...don't even get me started, I must have looked like a bumbling idiot walking around Babys R Us by myself.  There is just too much stuff that they try to sell you and too many options of each thing.  I just get this fear that if I don't buy the right thing I am somehow going to damage my child for the rest of her life!  I know this is far from the truth, but wow....thankfully my Sister In Law helped me with the registry and it is all done, I can stop stressing about that now and move on to the next thing, like buying furniture. 

I found the perfect nursery furniture at JC Penney.  It has to be ordered on line and it does not apparently qualify for any of their shipping discounts, so I tried to "checkout" to get a total to what it was going to be.....shipping was $350!!!!  Are you kidding me?? That is almost half of the price of the whole set of furniture!!!!  That is totally not going to fly, so I am off to find another "perfect" set.  Sheesh, nothing can be simple can it? 

Little McConaha has definitely started kicking, I can feel her really well, although she still is being shy to the outside world, so Daddy hasn't gotten to feel her yet.  She isn't shy on the inside though, she also knows exactly where my bladder is and isn't afraid to kick it repeatedly.  Right now she is breech, so she is feet down, hopefully she will be turning around soon.  My worst fear is that I will have to have a C-Section, I know that I will do what I have to, but yikes that scares the bajesus out of me, coming from a girl that can't get blood taken. 
Finally here I am at 23 weeks....blah...



Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Half Way There!

What an exciting week this is!  Today baby and I are half way to our EDD (estimated due date), 20 weeks!!  Little McConaha is 10 inches long from head to toe.  I guess before they measure head to rump since they are kind of balled up, but from week 20 on they measure from head to toe.  I am kind of wondering how in the world it is moving around in there, because I haven't felt much movement and 10 inches is pretty big, and I am not that big yet.  Just a few bumps here and there, even though I lie patiently waiting for it at night. 

Tonight I am getting a haircut, yay for some pampering!!  And tomorrow is the big day!!! We find out what we will be having a boy or a girl!!  I have checked the chinese calendar and it says girl, the quiz I took online says girl, and my intuition says girl.  My boss says it is a boy and he has been right with all of his grandchildren, so we have a lunch riding on what the ultrasound reveals.  Whatever it ends up being I will be one happy momma!!  I won't be happy spending my "fun" money on losing a bet, but I will be happy none the less! 

Last story of the day...last night coming home from the gym I started having a kind of panic attack.  I didn't feel really hungry, but I just felt like I had to have some food immediately, like I couldn't even make it all the way home (which isn't that far).  It was pretty weird, but I decided that I wanted a salad for dinner and Kroger was on the way home, so I stopped for some lettuce.  Then I decided, hmm...some candy sounds goo....BAD IDEA!!  All of the candy that looked good was on sale, so what did I do?  I bought one of each of them!! Oh Lordy!  So now I think I have enough candy to last me through Halloween and give some to trick-or-treaters!  On the way home I started on the Sour Patch Kids, finished them today at work, and tummy is NOT happy!  I am going to blame it on the kid since we all know kids want something and then when they get it they don't want it any more.  This better not be an indication of how it will be when Little McConaha starts eating people food!!  Of course my "ideals" may be a little off from reality, but I hope to be able to put my foot down when a meal is made and insist that my child eat what is made for them.  I don't want to be making 3 different meals a night.  I guess we will see what I am saying on this a year from now! Haha...it is so easy to say when you don't have kids yet.

Well Happy Bump Day all!  Have a great Wednesday, and last week of July.  I cannot believe it is almost over!
~ Mama McConaha

P.S. I hope to post some pictures tomorrow, maybe a belly bump, maybe a Ultrasound picture. 

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Party Crasher!!!

Happy Bump Day!!  19 weeks today, 1 week and 1 day until we find out what we will be having.  Will it be a boy or a girl???  You can make your wager now (although I am not sure what is up for grabs, if you lose you have to help paint the nursery, there!). 

I feel like I am begining to show and I am starting to get uncomfortable, especially since last night when an uninvited guest crashed the pregnancy party, and it's name is HEARTBURN!!  Ugh....I have never really had heartburn before, but I can tell you that it woke me up from a very comfortable sleep at about midnight and every few hours after that.  At times I thought I was going to be sick, but there was just this burning in my upper tummy.  I guess it may have been the mexican food that I had for dinner last night.  I am so not okay with giving up mexican food, or probably many of the foods I eat for that matter, for the next few months.  I guess I didn't know all of the sacrifices I would be making, although I am sure that it will all be worth it in the end.  So men, count your blessings that you don't have to give up the foods you love, caffiene, alcohol, your figure, etc., us women will take it for the team, so make sure you are supportive and bring us pregnant ladies whatever we need at any particular time!! 

Another big party crasher, hormones!  My poor husband has been present for a few breakdowns.  I will be sitting there about to eat dinner and just start crying.  It is horrible. But I will still stand by my justifications for crying or being upset, even though I may not know what they are. 

Well I guess I will let you all go and enjoy my new friend heartburn, I think it will be here with me for a while.  I suppose since I didn't have morning sickness I will have to deal with these other party crashers and I am sure there will be more crashers to follow. 

Have a great day everyone, and if you are in the midwest (or many other places right now) please stay in a cool place and keep your little ones and pets cool and well watered.  Yes, I know they aren't plants.  Later gators!

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Way to long...

It has been way too long since I have posted, it just seems to be getting very busy and I have been quite tired (I thought I was supposed to get my energy back by now).  Plus, I keep thinking of things I want to write, but then I sit down to start writing and it completely leaves my head....pregnancy brain I guess. 

Well Happy Bump Day!  Today is Week 18!!  Little McConaha is about the length of a bell pepper from head to rump (haha...I love it when it says "rump").  I have been anxiously awaiting a real movement, there has been times where there is fluttering, but I can't be 100% sure that it is the baby moving.  It is exciting and kind of scary at the same time.  I keep wondering if it will feel like I am in "Alien" or one of those movies where there is an alien or something inside the persons body....yikes!  We have the nursery almost totally cleaned out, so now we are just waiting to see what we are going to have...boy...or girl, then Danny can paint the room (and yes honey, two colors). 

So this morning I was getting ready for work and I looked over at the cat, and all I could see was my child in a few years laying on the ground copying the cat.  Cat is laying on her back, child on their back, cat licking their paws, child licking thier hands.  It is so funny how all the time now I am imagining what my kid will be doing.  I am just so excited for it to be here already.  Don't get me wrong, I am loving this pregnancy period, but there is so much excitement in what else is to come.   So off I go to enjoy being pregnant, loving the ability to walk around with my tummy hanging out and it being totally acceptable!  Bye Bye!!

Friday, July 8, 2011

Nursery.....but not rhymes.


Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall
Humpty Dumpty had a great fall
All the king's horses and all the king's men
Couldn't put Humpty together again

Ok, so there was a rhyme.  I thought starting this blog with a rhyme was a good idea.  The rest of this blog is not about nursery rhymes though.  It is about THE nursery.

The nursery we do not have yet.  We have a neighborhood garage sale in about a week to get stuff out of the house we do not need/want.  We have to do this to have room for a nursery.  I am quite excited about getting the nursery together (even though Erin has two colors picked out for the nursery, what's wrong with one solid color?).  I guess that is because I am excited to be a dad.  The funny thing about the nusery is that it used to be Erin's room.  It was her area to put her stuff in.  She has been cleaning it out and it looks quite good.

I'm not sure what I wanted to accomplish with this blog today.  Maybe it was to get ideas for the nursery in the comments section.  Maybe it was to appease my wife because she said I have not posted anything since this blog was created.  Or maybe I am getting more excited about having a child.

Friday, July 1, 2011

Mommy at 16 weeks and 2 days....where are you??  You must be laid back like mommy because you aren't in any hurry to make a grand statement to the world that you are here.  Mommy just looks like she needs to spend some more time at the gym. 

Was that you? & Beach life

  Hey little one, was that you at 1:30 in the morning moving around?  I don't know if it was just some fluttering or you.  I thought I felt a good kick, but I think it was a little too high to be you.  I am excited to feel you move around in there. 

So yesterday morning I was driving to work and I hear the song "Toes" by the Zac Brown Band and the chorus is "I got my toes in the water, Tush* in the sand, not a worry in the world, a cold beer in my hand, life is good today, life is good today".  The song really reminds me of Jimmy Buffett and gets me yearning to be at the beach.  Little McConaha, I am telling you I am a Parrothead and beach bum at heart.  I would pack up and move down to where it is warm all year long and live on the beach if only the whole family would pack up and move with us.  I love the summer, I love the beach, the sand, the sun.  Little one, growing up in South Bend we went to the beach a lot during the summer, and I really wish that we could be close so that you could grow up with the same experiences.  I hope that Grandpa will teach you to sail like he taught me (when you can talk you will have to sweet talk him into buying a new sailboat to take you out on).  I know we will make our own memories, but I hope that you will love the beach life as much as I do.  So now I am just sitting at work longing to be in a beach chair with some sand and water and daydreaming about all the adventures we will have once you are here and hoping that a lot of them involve a beach. 

I know those are two totally different topics to talk about in one post, but I didn't know if I should put it all in one post or seperate them or what, and with my pregnancy brain right now I have all these thoughts going in and out of my head and I just feel like writing them down.  So this blog might be a little scatterbrained, but I guess then you will get to see the real  me....your real mommy ;)  Can't wait to meet you my little one. 

*the word has been changed to protect innocent eyes.